Doc Chopp Award Winners

The Doc Chopp Award is given to a Grand Avenue businessperson who has totally committed himself or herself to individual business success as well as the success of the Grand Avenue Business Association, Grand Avenue and thus, St. Paul. It is the most prestigious award GABA presents each year. The award is named for Dr. William Chopp, a dentist who practiced on Grand from 1946 to 1976 and who took a personal interest in the development of the Avenue. He was affectionately known as Doc Chopp.

Doc Chopp Award Winners

1993 Maurice Mischke/Villager

1994 Billie Young/Old Mexico 

1995 Bill & Jim Wengler/Billy’s on Grand

1996 Bill Skally/Skally's Tax Service

1997 Jim Solin/Grand Avenue Hardware

1998 Jim Wuollet/Wuollet Bakery

1999 Mella Martin/Mella Day Spa

2000 Donna Kelly/Macalester Groveland Community Council

2001 Matt McDonough/Grand Spectacle

2002 Tom Johnson/A. Johnson & Sons Florists

2003 Bonnie Johnson Alton/Great Harvest Bread Co.

2004 John Wolf/Dixies on Grand

2005 Beth Bergman/Wet Paint

2006 Dan Parker/White Way Cleaners

2007 Roxy Freese/The Bibelot Shops

2008 Michael Schumann/Traditions Classic Home Furnishings

2009 Michele Cromer-Poire/The Red Balloon Bookshop

2010 Peter & Linda Quinn/Cafe Latte, Bread & Chocolate and Quince

2011 Chad Skally — Live Green Apartments

2012 Jimmy Fritz — Wedding Shoppe Inc.

2013 Brian Alton — McClay-Alton P.L.L.P

2014 Georgia Finnegan Amdahl — The Landmark Center 

2015 Dawn & Gary Huffman/Grand Ole Creamery and Pizzarea 

2016 Bob Kowalski — Kowalski's Grand Market